Daily Living: Letting Go in 2020

Sacrifice of Praise

Let go

It’s 2020. Happy New Year! While the general public is setting New Year’s resolutions, I’m not one to do so, really. But I do like to look back and reflect upon the thing’s I’ve learned. The goals I’ve reached. And where I think God is taking me. I can chart my growth. My challenges. My failures. And the things that have a stronghold in my life.

As an analytical, reflective person, I know myself well. I know where I stand. And I know the things I need to let go of. My past, for example. It was trying. Complicated. It offered lots of sorrow, more than for the average person. Too much of it have I held onto. After all, it shaped me. Shifted me. But I’ve never let my sorrow keep me from pressing in to God.

In 2019 I really saw how I’ve held on to my past too long, and how by doing so I’ve been robbed of some of the riches of God. At times it’s difficult to watch other people going from strength to strength when I feel like I’m standing in place. I’m most content when I see I’m balanced, after weathering the storm. The storm I letting goweathered last year was the feeling of being under valued. Taken advantage of. And even feeling abused. In fact, sometimes I feel like I’m wearing a t-shirt that reads, “Abuse Me!”

That makes me withdraw. Suffering isolates enough. I don’t want to become a hermit or become unmagnanimous with my gifts.

I found 2019 to be a difficult year. There were many challenges and losses, and I look forward to the new year. To 2020. But in order to succeed in moving towards my goals, I must let go. So that’s how I’m starting out this year. Promising myself to let go of all the people that abuse me. That take advantage of me. To get out of every bad situation. I hold to Deuteronomy 28:13, “The LORD will make you the head and not the tail, and you only will be above, and you will not be underneath, if you listen to the commandments of the LORD your God, which I charge you today, to observe them carefully.” And that is what I aim to do.

Whatever goals you have, whatever you purpose to accomplish this year, put the Lord before you so He may light the way. Then do it wholeheartedly loving God with all your heart, soul, mind and strength. Let go of what lies behind you and press on
to what lies ahead.

I hope I’ve given you some food for thought and that you’ve had a little snack! For further insights, why not visit Writeious Books? You can find songs, books, and more blogs and podcasts. Have any questions? Anything you’d like to study or share? Reach out!

Written by Jori Sams

2 thoughts on “Daily Living: Letting Go in 2020”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.