Lifestyle: Cleaning House

Scattered House

Years ago, my husband and I, along with some other family members, helped his parents downsize. They moved from a big, four-bedroom house to a one-bedroom bungalow. While they had over a year to prepare and organize before the move took place, when moving day came, they were nowhere near ready.

Was it because they hadn’t moved in years and had forgotten the time it took? Was it because they hadn’t considered how much stuff they would actually need to get rid of? Was it denial? Or trying to avoid the inevitable?

Getting Rid of Clutter

In frustration, I packed up the things in the kitchen, knowing that someone would have to move that box, unpack that box, and then pack up the things again and carry them to the charity shop. Carefully, I wrapped eight ceramic tea kettles with newspaper, placing them strategically in the big box. Every now and again, I stopped to sigh, placing my hand on my hip, shaking my head. My efforts were unnecessary and wasted.

It was an awful day, a long day, and by the time we unloaded the moving truck, my in-laws were exasperated and overwhelmed, unaware that they had collected so many things over the years. I believe something like 60 boxes were in there garden shed waiting for review, unable to fit in the bungalow. Once they had sorted their house, they would have to go through each box to see what was worth keeping, what they had room for, and what they had to give away.

During the move, there were things like 2x4s that my father-in-law wanted to keep in case he would need them later. There were old, rusty wires and heaters that he would pull from the trailer of rubbish we had started. When he wasn’t looking, they found their way back to the trailer.

How to Apply This Master Builder Renovates

Apply this lesson spiritually.

I believe it is wise, very wise, indeed, to let God have full access to our house, our temple. We must let Jesus move through one room at a time, cleaning and putting things in order. If we don’t, we will have so much clutter and move around useless things. Anyone who gives Jesus access to their house will tell you, the cleaning and maintaining process can be extremely uncomfortable, even painful. There are things in our rooms we don’t want to see, and some things we think are priceless simply need to be thrown out.

Exposing Dust, Dirt and Debris

When the bright light pierces into the room, the dust is visible. Every hidden thing is exposed. And sometimes, we have to sit back and watch as He carries our treasures to the rubbish trailer! What is He doing with that? Why is He throwing that away? I love that thing!

If we can identify the thing/s that God is putting in order in our house, removing, making tidy, or clearing space to make room for something better, we are in a great place!

Messy and Empty Rooms

I have had a scattered mess in one of my rooms. And in another, the room was completely empty. That was because the thief, the great deceiver, robbed me of all that was in there. For decades I visited that room with the greatest sorrow. “Why, God, is this room always empty?” I asked this for years.

Recently, I came upon the answer. Just to get clarity on the matter, I asked my dear friend to be honest with me and to tell me my three worst traits. I wanted to see if I was on the right track. Indeed, I was. What a relief!

Then the breakthrough came. Now I have one less scattered room, and one room waiting to be furnished. I gotta tell you, I am so excited to see how the Lord will decorate it.

How about you? Do you allow the Master Builder access to your whole house? Are you able to identify the renovations taking place?

Psalm 37:4, “Hope in the Lord and keep His way. He will exalt you to inherit the land; when the wicked are destroyed, you will see it.”

Written by Jori Sams

Inspirational Blog

Jori Sams is a Christian author and freelance writer with nearly 2000 published pieces on the Internet, with over 1500 being published by Yahoo. Her books are published through Writeious Books. When she isn’t writing, you can usually find her following the sun… 

Leave a Reply

