Religion: The Eighth Day

SIgnificant Eight

Most people I know have favorite numbers. Over the years, I have grown to favor odd numbers, especially 3, 7, and 11. I was fortunate enough to have a magic birthdate of 7/11. My father always said I should go to Vegas and shoot craps because of my “special” birthdate.

How disappointed he was to learn I don’t favor gambling!

If having a birthdate of 7/11 ever brought a little luck my way is anybody’s guess. I’m not superstitious, so I wouldn’t be inclined to think so. But I do believe numbers are significant. In fact, everything God says and does is significant. There is order and detail in every little thing. Take DNA for instance. You can’t get much more ordered and specific!

Biblical Numbers

While for decades I have understood the significance in the biblical numbers of 3, 7, 12, and 40, for example, I have only recently gained a deep appreciation for the number 8. There is much to be said about the number 8. It is very symbolic.

The number eight holds a mystery unlike other numbers. It represents infinity, with no beginning and no end. For this reason, it is the number of Yeshua. That alone makes it a beautiful number!

Abraham had 8 sons. Eight people were taken into the Noah’s ark. There are eight watches in Jewish history, four during the night and four during the day. The Bible records Jesus appearing before His apostles eight times.

Circumcision on the 8th Day

When I think of the number eight, I also think of circumcision, as baby boys are circumcised on the eighth day. This, too is symbolic. On the eighth day, Jews choose to enter the covenant with God through circumcision. This brings a human element into the equation. It also brings one to highlight the significance that there is something above nature. Something spiritual.Day of the Lord

In the physical realm, vitamin K, which aids blood to clot, peaks on the 8th day of life. By waiting 8 days before taking a knife to the baby to perform circumcision, this secures that the blood will clot. In the spiritual realm, by waiting eight days to circumcise a boy, the child gets to experience one Shabbat. Why is this significant? That leads me to my next point about the wonder of 8!

Creation and the 8th Day

God created the earth in six days. On the seventh day, He rested. And, in fact, He is resting now. He will soon work again, and then, ultimately, rest again. This future rest will be visible after the Millennial Kingdom, when the earth is restored. There will be peace once and for all in the New Jerusalem.

But before this era, there is the 8th day!

This is the Day of the Lord, and God will be at work unleashing His judgment. This is the judgment we read about all through the book of Revelation in the Bible. Early on in Revelation, we see a throne. Beneath the throne are the voices of the martyrs crying out for retribution. They are promised the reckoning will come soon as they cry out, “How long!”

On this 8th day, there will be a new beginning, a new order. This is where the saved will literally be “born again”! The dead will rise with new bodies, incorruptible. In Jewish tradition, after the seven days of the Feast of Tabernacles comes the eighth day, called the “Last Great Day”. Here is when God will make all things new. A great day, indeed. There were seven days in Creation, and one final day which brings eternity.

For all of the above reasons, 8 is my new favorite number! I get excited when I think about the eighth day. Observing the earth, which is held captive today by all things sinister, I can’t help but feel like the pressure on earth and in the heavens and in all of us is building. The eighth day is on its way.

Written by Jori Sams

 

 

Mosaic Law

 

Inspirational Blog

Jori Sams is a Christian author and freelance writer with nearly 2000 published pieces on the Internet, with over 1500 being published by Yahoo. Her books are published through Writeious Books. When she isn’t writing, you can usually find her following the sun… 

One thought on “Religion: The Eighth Day

  1. Great post! I am somewhat fascinated with numbers myself. I’ve always felt that there was something special about people who (like myself) were born on days that are prime numbers. You were born in a month and on a day that are both prime numbers! Doubly special for you!

Leave a Reply

