Lifestyle: Stay in “Drive”

Overcoming obstacles, challenges, difficult times

Before continuing with my insights on the Sermon on the Mount, I wanted to lay out the inspiration I had this week. I had the blessing of attending a small, local women’s breakfast at a local church this weekend. It was enough just to bask in the presence of God with sisters in faith. It was enough.

A true joy welled up from my insides as I looked around the room at all the devout women. I knew many of them, and I could only feel love for them. Love and a feeling of gratitude that they were other Christian women dotted all along the coast wanting to come together and worship.

If that wasn’t enough, a professional entertainer lead us in music worship with such an anointing. She is a humble and blessed woman and I hope we touched the heart of God with our voices. We didn’t finish there.

We moved into a teaching that was so sound, I think it had an impact on anyone who was listening. I wanted to share with you what I took from that. The theme was all about cars.

My husband is into cars, and I chuckled as we watched a clip of a rally car zooming around a dirt track thinking he would appreciate the theme. He used to make parts for professional Motorsport, after all.

Our speaker relayed to us how she spent life stuck between first and second gear in herFaith, Christianity, Positive early years, sometimes shifting to reverse.

This is what I took home. Without the grace of God, and without the knowledge of God’s grace, I would have never shifted out of second gear myself, or got beyond the grind of the gears. What a wonderful thing to be in a place where God can shift us from low to high gear as we are ready for the shifting.

My warning to myself was simple. Many, many trials have come upon me. I have been pounded by fierce waves relentlessly. People have abused me. Family has denied me. Friends have abandoned me. I often feel invisible and unworthy. I must decide, am I going to let circumstance steal my joy? Am I going to shift into reverse? The decision is up to me. Sometimes, the temptation and the failure is to shift into reverse or even neutral. Neutral, after all, is the safety gear.

But I don’t want to stay in neutral for long, I want to move forward. Always forward, never back. The whisper in my head will sound, “Keep going straight ahead.”

How about you? What gear are you in? Seek the Lord and ask Him to help you take it up one notch!

Written by Jori Sams

Inspirational Blog

Jori Sams is a Christian author and freelance writer with nearly 2000 published pieces on the Internet, with over 1500 being published by Yahoo. Her books are published through Writeious Books. When she isn’t writing, you can usually find her following the sun… 

One thought on “Lifestyle: Stay in “Drive”

  1. And I was blessed to be there with you, and yes it was a beautiful day and youve summed it up perfectly… xx

Leave a Reply

