Lifestyle: Sowing Seeds

 

Harvest

I am taking a brief break from my blog about insights into the Sermon on the Mount. Recently, I heard a very simple, yet effective sermon on sowing seeds. There are many passages in the Bible using seeds as a metaphor to spreading the gospel. These passages cover seeds in different contexts. In this blog, I am reflecting upon sowing seeds with emphasis on the sower.

In Luke 8:11, we are told the seed is the Word of God. In the synoptic gospels (Matthew, Mark and Luke, which share a similar viewpoint), we see the sower sowing seeds on four different soils with only one soil being productive. In 2 Corinthians 9:6, we learn that whoever sows sparingly will reap sparingly, and whoever sows bountifully will reap bountifully.

It is this last verse I want to focus on. The context of chapter 9 is referring to the church plants of Paul in Asia Minor giving a large donation for him to pass along to the hurting church in Jerusalem, and the generous gift will glorify God. Paul is encouraging believers to give “cheerfully” or to give so much beyond their means with so much faith that it brings forth laughter or joy.

But the seeds I want to focus on are not in the context of pennies. They are in the context of time which is stemming from care, which is stemming from love. This is what I mean: today in the Western church, we find it much easier to give money than time. It does us good to drop our change in the bucket at church as it passes. But to actually give God our time and attention above and beyond the Sunday service, this is costly.

In order to sow seeds into this soil, we will have to be deliberate and focused.

Giving God our time could look something like clothing the poor, inviting strangers in, visiting the sick, the widows, those in prison. This is one way of sowing seeds. Really, though, all along the way, we are dropping seeds into the soil. We are sowers, looking for every Planting, harvesting, fieldsopportunity. We have faith that God means what He says with all His promises. We cannot out-give Him. Our faith translates into love for His family and the desire to take care of them. This causes us to give up our time to be with others or to serve others. It can even happen quickly, however, wherever we go.

We are so in touch with the Holy Spirit that when He nudges us, we jump to action. Someone somewhere needs a seed. It could be someone in the checkout lane ahead of us. It could be someone in the booth next to us in the diner, at the gym, next door. Someone somewhere needs a seed.

This seed contains the truth, the gospel, the good news of Christ. For me, this transaction, or the planting, happens naturally. It often happens on airplanes, in hotel hot tubs, on the bus, on the beach. It is easy, painless and rewarding.

The sermon I heard reminded me of this. It reminded me that my number one job on this earth is to plant seeds. It seems, I lost sight of this. Spiritually speaking, Spain is one of the largest deserts I have ever known. There are very few opportunities here to use my gifts in the local churches. They are small and people are transient and very preoccupied.

I get discouraged when I don’t see much fruit. I feel like I am on the bench because I have failed God. I feel invisible. Unimportant. Of little value.

Being reminded that sometimes God may call me to water, every now and then I may be called to harvest, I should always be faithful to plant the seed. I don’t even have to prep the soil. God does all of this. I just walk along and drop seeds.

And most definitely when I reach the next phase of life, I will see the fruit from the harvest that came from the seed I’ve planted. I will be so surprised and delighted to see what God did with my seeds! I know I will!

This thought gives me hope. Great hope! As I look into my basket I see it is almost empty, my seeds are almost gone. Turning back, I look at this giant field that I have tread on faithfully across the years. It is absolutely full of seed. Has anything grown? I cannot tell. But I am asking God for another field and some more seed. Someone out there needs a seed…

Written by Jori SamsInspirational Blog

Jori Sams is a Christian author and freelance writer with nearly 2000 published pieces on the Internet, with over 1500 being published by Yahoo. Her books are published through Writeious Books. When she isn’t writing, you can usually find her following the sun… 

Leave a Reply

