Holidays: A Tribute to my Fathers

Fathers DaySomeone decided decades ago that June was a month in need of a celebration. Welcome Father’s Day. Ever since 1910, the third Sunday in June brings us a time to honor our fathers.

I presently have two fathers. I have my earthly father, and I have my heavenly father. First, I would like to say thank you to my earthly father. He has been a strong support through my life.

I knew many sorrows in my childhood, more than I can even retell. There wasn’t much love going around my family and we were always in a financial struggle. In fact, the only face of love I knew belonged to my father.

Because my parents were divorced, I never got to see enough of him. He made so many sacrifices, too, for my comfort. He was not strict or demanding, either.

At age 82, he is still a gentle soul with a beautiful smile. And he still makes too many sacrifices. This is just how he will always be.

Because I was a little imp, he could never be angry or frustrated with me for long and he used to tell me when I was a kid I was so special I could grow up to be anything I wanted.

I relate to my heavenly father like I do my earthly one. I know He believes in me. I know He knows I can do all things through Him, because He strengthens me. Because I am still an imp, He cannot be angry with me for long. Not only this, but He has removed my sin as far as the east is from the west.

Abba is my healer. He is my provider. He is enough. He is also able, able to answer my prayers and to supply even things so wonderful that I never even thought to ask for! Fathers Day

He satisfies. And when I move one step closer to Him, He draws two steps closer to me. Why would He bother for someone like me? Who am I?

Yahweh, my heavenly father, is the same today as He was the hour He created the heavens and the earth. In His hands is the mystery of life. No one knows the exact hour the earth was created, or how it was created. No one can weigh the dust of the earth or hold it in their hands. No one can tell the proud waves to halt. And no one knows the thoughts of my heavenly father.

I want to thank Him on this Father’s Day. He is my redeemer and Lord and such a great comforter. He is King and the keeper of my soul. He is intimately acquainted with all my ways and I love Him.

Written by Jori Sams

Christian ebook logo

Jori Sams is a Christian author and freelance writer with nearly 2000 published pieces on the Internet, with over 1500 being published by Yahoo. Her books are published through Writeious Books. When she isn’t writing, you can usually find her following the sun… 

Leave a Reply

