Lifestyle: More Faith

 

Religion, faith, christianity Years ago, when I was still very young in the Lord, and in the flesh, too, I was an intense thinker. Having been committed to Jesus for around four years or so, one day I was quite anxious. My friend noticed this right away upon arriving to my house. After questioning me at length, to get to the root of the problem, I couldn’t quiet place the stem of my anxiety.

As we departed the house to begin our evening’s social events, with deep consternation, I sighed. During this time in my life, my mother was terminally ill with cancer. I was fasting for her once a week. This fasting wasn’t necessarily for her healing; God had already confirmed that He would soon take her. I was fasting once a week for her spiritual condition, that God would not take her until she was ready to meet Him and spend eternity near Him.

On my fasting days, I was under heavy supernatural assault. If you have never fasted, then this will be hard to comprehend; if you have fasted, you will know exactly what I am talking about. I do not remember my exact challenges on that day, but I do remember that God had revealed something awesome about Himself as I drew close to Him.

Fountain of FaithThinking about this that night, I was able to come to the conclusion that my anxiety revolved around the fear that I would one day stop learning about God or become bored if I wasn’t always learning something awesome like on that day. My friend assured me this fountain would never run dry.

Over thirty years later, I can say she is still right.

To add to this, a few weeks ago I saw my faith withering. Not my faith in the existence of God, but my faith in basic things. The fears I was having were unfounded and showed a definite lapse of faith that God would be able to bring me through any circumstance. The disappointment I was having with myself was that I had trusted God for much more impossible things in the past. What was the reason for my doubt?

The interesting thing with faith is that it keeps stretching. This is what I have learned. After all these years, I keep thinking that I surely have nearly filled my faith tank, so to speak. Is it possible to have more and more and more?

With the challenges I face, I know I will not be victorious without more faith. And I also know that with it, just a simple measure more, I will stand tall and come through my challenges a triumphantly! What I needed was simple, just a little bit more faith to take me to the next level.

A few weeks on, and unbelievably, I have discovered I have received it! God was faithful to supply it! All I had to do was see the need, humble myself and ask. It wasn’t painful at all.

My wonder here is not that God answers prayer or that He hears me. I know this. My wonder is in the fact that I thought I had so much faith, and I did, but I thought it was complete and it wasn’t. There was room for more, and more came. I now feel complete, but I bet I am not! I bet there is a lot more room in the jar.

What a beautiful thing faith is. Without it, I would not approach the throne of grace, because I wouldn’t believe there was even a throne to approach. But it is this aspect that keeps the faith childlike, I ask and keep asking. I seek and keep seeking. I know in the future I will marvel again at the next portion of faith I receive. With every new portion comes a new revelation of how mighty is the Almighty God I serve. There is none like Him.

Written by Jori Sams

Christian ebook logo

Jori Sams is a Christian author and freelance writer with nearly 2000 published pieces on the Internet, with over 1500 being published by Yahoo. Her books are published through Writeious Books. When she isn’t writing, you can usually find her following the sun… 

Leave a Reply

