Perfect Theology: A House Divided

Religion: A House DividedMany years ago, feeling inept at life with a body that had grown feeble from illness, I came before the Lord in a time of meditation feeling destitute. I was hungering for truth and acceptance. “If only…” I kept repeating. “If only…”

“If only what?” A gentle whisper replied in my head. “What are you looking for?”

“I have so many questions. If only I could go to Bible school…” I was feeling defeated. Bible school was out of the question due to the physical limitations I had at the time.

“What do you want?”

 “The truth. I am looking for the truth.”

“You don’t need a Bible school for that.”

 The Wealth of Scripture Memorizing

And so my journey began that moment. I sat myself down and spent years memorizing thousands of verses from the Word of God. As much as I understood that Jesus was the Word of God, that revelation drove deeper as each day passed. All I have gained from that journey has proved to be invaluable.

Recently, as I was exercising my memory by going through these verses, one of them stood out. It was Matthew 12:25, “A city or house divided against itself is laid waste.” What was it that struck me about this verse?

Divisions Within the Church

As I sit here on my verandah beneath the hot sun and a ruthless wind in the South of Spain, perhaps my current challenges lend to the question. There is so much division within the Church, within the Body. How will it ever be made well?

Meditating upon this thought, I could only ask myself, “What do I need to know about a house divided against itself and the fact it can’t stand?” It took a moment for the revelation to arrive.

At first, I had to understand Christianity with all its divisions. For years, these have bothered me. The Body of Christ appears so divided. There are so many issues to disagree on.

There are the spiritual gifts. Are they for today? Were they just given us until the Holy Spirit arrived? What are the present offices within a church? Do women still have to remain silent? What about salvation? Do I really have a choice? These are just a few examples. I could go on and on mentioning the differences.

Divisions also come within denominations of Christianity. Take Catholicism. Is Catholicism, as well as the Orthodox churches within nations, really Christian at all, or is it works based? What about the Anglican and Episcopalian churches? Then there are Methodists and Lutherans, Presbyterians, Baptists, Pentecostals, Non-denominationalists, just to name a few.

The One True Church

Who is the One True Church and is it my aim to go out and find it, because if it really is, I am struggling?!

In order to have peace on this matter, I need my Bible. Looking at the following passage, I have found my resolve. Ephesians 4:4-6, “There is one body and one Spirit, just as you were called to one hope when you were called; one Lord, one faith, one baptism; one God and Father of all, who is over all and through all and in all.”

To sum it up:Religion: One Church

  • There is one body
  • There is one Spirit
  • There is one hope
  • There is one Lord
  • There is one faith
  • There is one baptism
  • There is one God

How simple is that?

Bring it forward to the “house divided against itself” and then piece it together.

The Divided House and the Unending Kingdom

We must understand that God says of His kingdom, that it shall never end. So, logically, then, we can conclude that of Matthew 12:25, Jesus was speaking of the house built by the enemy. This house is divided; this house will be laid waste.

But not the house that Christ is building. In fact, this house is a temple, and Jesus is the Cornerstone, the chief Rock, the Head. One Lord. All who believe He is the Son of God are the Body. One body. One faith.

So, the body isn’t divided after all. We are all on a journey to do our part within the body, and God says He will bless us as it pleases Him. One God. There is One Spirit moving us all as we allow Him. This is our one hope, giving us our one baptism, a spiritual birth.

There is no one perfect denomination. And blending them all together to accept them all or to try and mesh them into a perfect denomination or religion is futile. Jesus is building His church; He is the Master Craftsman. This church is a body, not a building, and to be part of it, you needn’t belong to any one religion or denomination. You need to believe that Jesus Christ is the living and only Son of God. That is it. Full stop. If you are in a place of sound doctrine, Jesus will do the rest wherever you go…

Written by Jori Sams

Christian ebook logo

Jori Sams is a Christian author and freelance writer with nearly 2000 published pieces on the Internet, with over 1500 being published by Yahoo. Her books are published through Writeious Books. When she isn’t writing, you can usually find her following the sun… 

One thought on “Perfect Theology: A House Divided

  1. Hi Jori, thanks for this piece from the hot South of Spain (sounds amazing!).

    Your post touches on something that I do believe is essential in the hour we’re in…the imperfections of the numerous denominations. Was Jesus denominational? No. How did we get here? I have no idea. But I do know that Christ is returning as a literal Bridegroom for a literal bride who will be ready out with any denominational/institutional baggage. May your kingdom come, Lord!

Leave a Reply

