Religion: Is Memorizing Scripture a Weakness?

Best Roman ruins in SpainI am searching and meditating upon the word of God to discover if God really manifests Himself in new ways. When I stand in a room in the presence of someone involved in cackling, stomping their foot, barking and chuckling during prayer, these manifestations are considered great moves of the Holy Spirit. And I am considered to have a religious spirit for saying otherwise.

Besides this, some would say I am missing the power of God. I worship and serve God only in intellect. It is signs and wonders I should be seeking.

Some Say Memorizing Scripture is Running from God

My small group is going through a book that I dislike strongly. In the first chapter it states that people who memorize scripture are weak and running from God. Really? Because I love to study the word of God and memorize it, I am in jeopardy of being called legalistic? It is the first time in my life I had heard this. It takes strong will, determination and concentration to memorize the Word of God, not to mention discipline.

But isn’t discipline the thing that is lacking in Christians today? We lack coping skills and staying power. We long to experience God instead of knowing Him. Our music worship and fellowship is tainted and resembles the occult and witchcraft. Having been involved in these practices, I can easily identify them. Imagine my surprise when I came upon a “Christian” book that was saying the center of life was contemplative spirituality. This is nothing more than eastern religion wrapped in Christian verbiage.

Centering Prayer and Eastern Mysticism

Centering prayer is nothing different than transcendental meditation. I have covered this in blogs passed. It has crept into Christianity and people are buying it up like hotcakes!

Many, many years ago the late, great Christian scholar Francis Schaffer wrote a book “The God Who Is There.” Back in his day I was too young to comprehend all the deep things of God he talked about. But I grasp it today, for his very predictions are coming to pass before my very eyes. He warned that one day Christianity would blur and blend with the world and eastern religions. He saw that mysticism had bled into Christianity, along with Gnosticism. And one day we would not be able to distinguish between the two.biblepage

The irony is that the conservative Christian publishing companies that served to put his writings into print have come to be the ones that are publishing this very rubbish that he warned about. And it’s getting worse. Yet I know I do not stand alone in my observations.

Without being judgmental, I can still see the errors in contemporary Christianity. I sit amongst babel coming out from the pulpit across western civilization. Life is a journey, and we aren’t expected to know all the answers before we set off. But as Christians it is our responsibility to know the word of God. We should know it enough to defend our faith and to guard our mind, because Satan comes to kill, steal and destroy. He is prowling about seeking someone to devour, and I am afraid he is sitting at a great big buffet of believers having his choice.

Difficulties in Staying Centered in Christ

If I am branded as having a religious spirit because I know God’s word and want to caution my brothers and sisters in the Lord, to train up a righteous man so he is equipped for every good work, then so be it! These are dark and dangerous days. Jesus cautions the church of Laodicea warning her He will spit her out for being lukewarm. And He tells those in Thyatira who are righteous to keep being righteous putting no other expectations on them. Clearly, this was going to be hard enough in itself!

I do not need signs and wonders to worship God. Just give me eyes to see and ears to hear what Jesus is saying to the churches. I need to test everything I hear and read against the word of God. I desire to walk in a manner worthy of the Lord, to please Him in all respects. This is not a heavy burden.

Written by Jori Sams

Christian ebook logo

Jori Sams is a Christian author and freelance writer with nearly 2000 published pieces on the Internet, with over 1500 being published by Yahoo. Her books are published through Writeious Books. When she isn’t writing, you can usually find her following the sun… 

Leave a Reply

