Religion: Studying 2 Chronicles: The Influence of Asaph Part 2

Purpose for MusicMy last blog concluded with my thoughts on music, being in a band, wanting a recording contract, struggling to get beyond singing in bars and clubs. It wasn’t long before I felt like I was giving my pearls before swine, so to speak, and lost sight of my goals. Or just kicked them to the curb. So reading this text and having an epiphany shed some light on me.

Back then, there were no iPods or even phonographs. No MP3s, CDs, or LPs. Nothing. Every song in order to be heard had to be performed. Music was so vital and evoked one mood or another, be it happy or be it sad. And indeed, we must be careful what we allow to enter our ears, because today there is such a dark stronghold on the music industry that very little is edifying or pure and invokes darkness and evil spirits, for certain, whether we are aware of it or not. This is true not just in “secular” music, but in “Christian” music, too.

In antiquity, music was performed to help the workers work. To give support and aid their physical strength. In this case, music was performed and cymbals sounded, for instance, to praise and thank God for His presence amongst the Israelites.

In the Bible where we see music and song taking place, it is always full of the love and praise of God. Deborah’s song in Judges. The songs sung in the book of Revelation. In 1 Chronicles 16.

In the New Testament we can read where Jesus broke into songs of praise with His disciples.

Here is the epiphany.

Can we surmise, then, that the biblical purpose for music and singing is always for some spiritual purpose, whether to praise or to lament? I say this because we do see songs/psalms of lament written. But they are always centered around the providence and sovereignty of YHWH.

I have made a decision that from now on, all of my songs will be, too. That includes the songs of lament or sorrow. Let my mind, heart and voice always be centered around my Creator and Savior. Psalms, Asaph, religion, Christianity

It has become a frequent occasion that I sing out a song with words and melody for that moment for God’s ears and the heavenly host alone. I sing it once. I belt it out in that hour. And then never again.

And as I continue to read through 1 and 2 Chronicles, one more question comes to mind when I think of Asaph.

What does it mean that Asaph prophesied or was a seer as mentioned in 2 Chronicles 29:30?

During my own moments of singing praise, I, too, without thinking, have taken on words of knowledge or those prophetic in nature. So, this thought of Asaph prophesying compels me.

All of the psalms that Asaph penned, Psalms 50 and 73-83, in one form or another, deal with the judgment or wrath of God. Perhaps Psalm 83 is the best example as we the fate for the Ishmaelites, the Moabites, the Ammonites, the Amalekites and so on regarding God’s judgment on the enemies of Israel.

Asaph wrote lines like:

Offer to God a sacrifice of thanksgiving, and perform your vows to the Most High and call upon me in the day of trouble; I will deliver you, and you shall glorify me.”

Reading through the Psalms of Asaph the seer, music leader, writer and poet, he passed down his skills to many generations, inspiring an immeasurable amount of people. What a talent and a gift he had to share! How he multiplied that treasure God blessed him with. I want to do the same!

Written by Jori Sams

Author for SamSword and Writeious Books. Former freelance writer for Yahoo with more than 1500 blogs behind her.

Leave a Reply

