Happy Thanksgiving 2013

Image of Thanksgiving

I have the doldrums again. I get like this every year around Thanksgiving. I miss my family back in the U.S. I miss that wonderful warmth that goes around the house, beginning in the kitchen. Thanksgiving is full of special memories.

There’s the festivities that begin the night before. Special Thanksgiving services at church. Getting dressed up. There’s the parade. Football. And more football. The smell of turkey and stuffing. Mashed potatoes. Gravy. Ahhhh. Pie.

Image of pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving

I miss it all. I miss the laughter and the good tidings. The kick-off to the Yuletide. I know a fair few folk that will be celebrating here in Spain. I won’t be amongst them. I will sit back and smile, thinking of my family. I will wait another year with hopes that maybe I can join them next time.

I have a nice view of the Med. I will sit on my terrace with a sweet smelling cup of Raspberry Rooibos and make pumpkin soup. It is also Chanukah. When the sun goes down I will light the Hanukia and eat some fried food. This special event, with Chanukah falling during Thanksgiving instead of Christmas, won’t happen again for like another 70,000 years. Here it is, happening in my lifetime.

Image of lovely Thanksgiving turkey

I will say prayers of thanks and rededication. I will offer up every essence of my spirit, soul and body to the service of the Lord. My body is my temple, after all, and I rededicate for the good work of the Lord. So eat, drink and remember. I lift up my cup and toast all the goodness of God. “For I would have despaired if I had not seen the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living.” Psalm 27:13.

By Jori Sams

Leave a Reply

