Sonnet of Rain

I thought that once a week, perhaps on Sundays, I will publish one of my sonnets, the Sunday Sonnet or such it will be called. So today I have selected one of the first in a series of sonnets regarding life in Spain. It is part of a compilation from a book of sonnets I am in the process of making.

SONNET OF RAIN

JUST CRY FOR ME, O, AIR OF THE MOUNTAINS.
PLEASE SEND DOWN YOUR TEARS. DO WHAT I CANNOT.
BUT INDEED WHAT I FEEL. FEEL MY HEART NOW.
TOUCH MY SOUL AND CRY FOR ME. CRY FOR ME.

WATER THE CRUSTED SOIL THAT LONGS FOR YOU.
JUST AS I BLEED, O, SOOTHE MY CRUSHED HEART.
SO CRY FOR ME. AND WHILE YOU ARE WORKING
REMEMBER THIS BECAUSE I AM CRIED OUT.

PIERCE ME THROUGH, O, AND SPARE ME NO SORROW.
LIFE AROUND ME APPEARS TO BE HOLLOW.
I HAVE EXAMINED THIS FAR TOO LONG NOW.
TO STOP THIS ANALYSING IS GONE NOW.

SO CRY FOR ME, O AIR OF THE MOUNTAINS.
JUST SEND DOWN YOUR TEARS. DO WHAT I CANNOT.

written by jori sams

One thought on “Sonnet of Rain

  1. Powerful work. The imagery is strong and the first two stanzas work well. The meaning of the third stanza is less clear (deliberately?) – could be due to punctuation. You could consider repeating the second line in the final one, for strength. Can’t wait to read more…

Leave a Reply

